Please enable JS

Add User

November 12, 2019

Users

Users can work on Prolaborate as per their access permissions or the permissions set for the groups they are in.

This guide will help you understand how to manage users and user groups, both from Prolaborate and Active Directory.

Add Prolaborate Users

Click on Menu > Users to go to Users page.

It displays the list of all users in the current repository.From this page, you can add new users directly in to Prolaborate or from Active Directory (AD), view and edit details of users.

To add a user to the repository, click on Add User.

In the Add User to Repository page, you can add a new user, add users who you have added to other repositories or add users from Active Directory

Add New System User option is used to add a new user to Prolaborate and to this repository.

To add a new user,

  • Enter the Email address of the new user
  • Enter the default Password. The user will be asked to change this password on their first login.
  • Specify their First and Last Name
  • Enable Require EA Authentication only if you want this user to be prompted for Enterprise Architect credentials when opening this repository. Please note this option can be enabled only if EA Security is enabled for this repository.
  • Enable Admin option if you want to make this user an Admin
  • Click on Submit and the user will be added.
  • A welcome email will be sent to the user.

Add Users from Other Repositories

Use the Select existing users if you want to add the users, both Prolaborate and Active Directory users, whom you have added already to other repositories.

This saves you from the manual effort of adding the same list of users to each repository.

Select the users you want to add and click on Add icon.

Manage Users

After you have added the users, click on Go Back to go back to the users page.

You can view the complete details of a user by clicking on the icon in View Details column.

In the expanded view, you can

  • View the list of user groups this user is part of
  • Edit First name, Last name, and Email.
  • Edit Default Dashboard of the user. Default dashboard set at a user level takes precedence over the default set at Repository and Group level
  • Edit the Status. Users with who are Inactive will not be able to login to Prolaborate
  • Make an user as Admin.
  • Click on Send Password Link to send a password reset link to the user.
  • Set a one-time password using Set Temporary Password. The user can login to Prolaborate using the temporary password but he/she will be prompted to change the password.
  • Click on Edit to edit the details of the user.
  • View the Type of user. There are four types of users:
    • Prolaborate Admin – Administrators with complete access to the application
    • Registered Users – All users except Admin and AD users belong to this type
    • Active Directory User/Group – User or Group added from Active Directory
    • Collaborate User – Users invited using Invite Collaborators option and have registered in Prolaborate

Manage Invited Collaborators

All the users who have been invited for Collaboration using the Invite Collaborators option and have not registered will appear here.

User Groups

User groups help you treat a set of members as a single entity. This will be extremely helpful in cases like assigning access permissions to packages or dashboards. You can assign access at once rather than assigning access one by one to individual users.

Add Prolaborate User Groups

To go to the List of Groups page, click on Menu > User Groups.

List of Groups page displays all the groups in the current repository.

To add a group, click on Add Group.

Fill the following details and click on Submit to create a group.

  • Mention the Name of the group
  • Add the Users whom you want to be part of this group
  • Enable Require EA Authentication if you want the users of this group to be prompted for Enterprise Architect credentials when opening this repository. Please note this option will be enabled only if EA Security is enabled for this repository.
  • Set the status – Active or Inactive. Please note making the group as inactive does not make its members inactive. If a group is inactive, the permissions given to that group will be revoked and that group will not be available anywhere in the system.
  • Set the Default Dashboard for this User group
  • Select the Feature Sets you want this group to have access to. For example, if you select Dashboard Management, this group members will be able to add, edit, delete and set default dashboards

Manage Prolaborate User groups

The newly created group will appear in the list now.

To view the details of a group, click on Expand icon. You can edit all the details of a group.

Any questions? Contact us