Prolaborate lets you share Enterprise Architect Models, Views, Packages, Diagrams and Elements as links and invite anybody in your organization to quickly get feedback from them on an EA item.
Sharing can be made either through a Private Link or Public Link. When you share through private link it needs valid credentials and access permissions to work on it and if you shared through Public Link anybody with the Public Link can view the EA element.
We will cover the following workflows in this user guide:
User must have admin access to manage repositories settings.
In Repository Settings, enable Share Settings and Invite Collaborators.
Use a Private link, a Public link, or an Embed Link to share EA artifacts, discussions, widgets, etc.
When you share EA model data using a private link, users can view and collaborate on the shared item using their Prolaborate credentials.
When a private link is shared, users will undergo the following steps:
When you share EA model data using a public link, the user can view the shared item in a read-only mode. Once the user logs in, user can edit and collaborate on the shared item based on their access permission.
When you share a public link, the recipient will undergo the following steps:
After signing in, users will be able to see the element and the discussion happening on the element, connectors, zoom in and zoom out features, etc.
The overview page will open when you click on a Package, diagram, or element in the repository browser.
Click the Share button. Under Copy Link to Share, select the type of link to be shared.
Diagrams in Prolaborate can be shared in two ways. User’s can
To share a diagram with properties from the Diagrams page, click on the diagram or click on the Open Diagram icon that is hovering over the diagram.
When you arrive at the diagrams page, click the Share button. Under Copy Link to Share, select the type of link to be shared.
By enabling Public Diagram links in Repository settings, user can share a diagram as an image through a public link.
To share a diagram, click on the diagram in the repository browser and then choose Actions > Share Diagram.
When a diagram is shared using this option, users will be able to see the diagram as an image but they won’t be able to see any further details of the diagram such as the location of the package or if there are any collaboration activities. Neither will they be able to take any actions in the diagram such as zoom in, zoom out, etc.
When a discussion is shared through a link, the user can view the discussion only if he has the login credentials, and he can further collaborate on the discussion, i.e. reply to the discussion, only if the user has the collaborate access permission.
To share a discussion, click on the vertical ellipsis icon and then click on Share.
When you click Share, you will be given a link to share the discussion.
To share a widget, hover over a widget and click on the Share icon in the widget. Under the Copy Link to Share dropdown, select the type of link to be shared.
To share a dashboard, click on the Share icon and choose the type of link to be shared under Copy Link to Share dropdown.
To invite users to collaborate on reviews, packages, models, etc, enable the Invite Collaborators option in Menu > Repository Settings > Invite Collaborators
This feature will not be visible in elements, reviews, etc if the Invite Collaborators option is not enabled.
To invite a user to collaborate in an enterprise architect artifact, view, package, etc, select the package, element, etc, and click on the Share icon.
Enter the email address of the user who you would like to invite for collaboration under the section Enter Email ID(s).
The existing registered user email addresses will be listed down as you begin entering the email address. You can the select the email address of the person you wish to invite.
When an email address is manually typed in Prolaborate, whether it is an existing email address or one that does not exist, press Enter on the keyboard after entering the email address.
When the Invite button is pressed without pressing the Enter key on the keyboard, the system is unable to recognise the email address.
Enter as many email addresses as you need to invite multiple collaborators at once.
Enter a brief note in the Email Message field after entering the email address.
To receive a copy of the invitation, click on Send me a copy checkbox.
On entering the details, click on Invite.
When the collaborators are invited, they will receive an email notification.
When the user receives the email notification, he can begin collaborating by clicking the link provided in the email notification.
If the collaborator is not already a Prolaborate user, he must register using the link provided in the email notification.
Collaborators will be able to log in and collaborate after filling out the registration form. When a collaborator signs up, he becomes a registered user in Prolaborate, consuming a licence count.